Monday, September 26, 2011

I returned to Georgia yesterday from Nana’s funeral in New York. I drove for more than 12 hours by myself and it gave me time to cry, reflect and remember. The drive up Thursday to Camden, New Jersey took 14 hours followed by another 8 hours Friday to Hauppauge, Long Island where the funeral was to be held. Here’s the crazy thing, I drove 823 miles from Georgia to New Jersey in 14 hours and then it took Andrew and me 8 hours to drive another 123 miles! Do the math.There was a terrible rainstorm on Friday and all of the roads were flooded. All I wanted, all I needed was to get there to see Nana one last time, and this storm was standing in my way.

As I was driving alone both ways, I was flooded with so many wonderful memories and images of my years with Nana. The message is clear; the blog must continue as a way to honor her and all that she was, and all that she meant to her loved ones.

My brother Jeffrey, who died December 6, 2009 factors in this blog as well, as he is a very big part of these memories. Jeffrey was the ringleader. All of the adventures Val, Steve, Jodi and I had are because of him. Guest appearances will be made by my cousins, aunts and uncles along with assorted friends. I’m not promising the memories will be in chronological order. They’ll be told as they “swirl around” in my head. Whichever one comes to the forefront, will be told.

Today I’m remembering Nana and school. She was always interested to know what I learned in school and was genuinely interested in all that I told her. One memory that is pushing its way to the forefront centers on a spelling bee when I was in the 6th grade. When we lived in Brooklyn we attended Transfiguration Catholic School on Hooper Street. The “we” were Jeffrey, me, and cousins Val, Steve and Jodi. Jodi was the youngest and in first grade.

Each morning we’d walk to school with our friends who lived on our block; Paul, Lori, Cathy, Lupe, Frankie and Stevie. We were our own posse in our Catholic School uniforms!

As I mentioned before, I participated in a 6th grade spelling bee. I studied for days and was more than ready. I was one of the best spellers in my grade and was sure I’d win. The spelling bee progressed until it came down to me and a boy from one of the other 6th grade rooms. The word was “recognize”. It was my turn. The nun, Sister Margaret said “reco-nize”. So, I spelled the word she said; r-e-c-o-n-i-z-e. Wrong! Then the boy spelled it correctly and won. I was mortified! How could this happen? I was confused. I was so upset, I started to cry. I don’t remember what he won. I do however, remember what I won as a second-place prize. It was a plastic statue of Jesus and I put it in my book bag.

After school I went home, and still stinging from my horrific loss, I told Nana that I lost the spelling bee. Her words were not only comforting, but encouraging. She said in her beautiful, thick Italian accent; “No you worry about it, baby. You’re a smart girl, you’ll win next time”. Then I showed her my second-place prize. Her face lit up and she hugged
me and told me it was beautiful. She put it on her mantle; actually her altar (that’s another story) in her bedroom.

That statue is still around. It’s in her bedroom in St. Thomas. She kept it all of these years! I remember seeing it when I was visiting in April. I gave a cheap plastic statue of Jesus to my grandmother who treasured it some 45 years! So, in actuality, I was the winner that day and still am. For 55 years I was the recipient of unconditional love and boundless support from the most amazing woman ever put on this earth. As my cousin Steve said, when it came to family and close friends, Nana was the most loyal person, ever! I am so thankful for her.

Nana often made her own home-made pretzels. They were made without yeast. Here is a recipe for yeast-less pretzels similar to Nana’s. What can I say; some kids came home from school to cookies and milk; I came home to her home-made pretzels!  Enjoy.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour, all-purpose
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
2 tablespoons margarine or butter
2/3 cup milk
1 large egg beaten
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt

Directions
Combine first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl; add margarine and mix until it resembles
coarse meal.
Add milk, stirring until dry ingredients are just moistened.
Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead about 12 times.
Divide dough in half and roll each half into a 12×8-inch rectangle.
Cut dough lengthwise into eight 1-inch strips.
Twist each into a pretzel shape; brush with beaten egg.
Place on lightly greased baking sheets and bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until golden brown.
Cool pretzels for a few minutes on wire racks.
Makes about 16 soft pretzels.

1 thought on “Monday, September 26, 2011

Leave a comment